Congratulations to the 2023 Heermans-McCalmon Dramatic Writing Competition winners

The Department of Performing and Media Arts is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Heermans-McCalmon Dramatic Writing Competition.

For Screenplays:

  • 1st place: "Girl Club" by Jo Bowman 
  • 2nd place: "The Seaglass Woman" by Caleb Straayer 
  • Honorable Mention: "Himself (Or Others!)" by Lila Rallatos 

For Plays:

  • 1st Place: "Kill Your Darlings" by Tatiana Bustos 
  • 2nd Place: "Girl Talk" by Angel Katthi
  • Honorable Mention: "Off My Property!" By Shania Lei Bravo 

The Heermans-McCalmon Dramatic Writing Competition, which has been around for 70 years, was established at the bequest of Forbes Heermans (class of 1878) in memory of George McCalmon, professor of speech and drama. First-place winners earn cash prizes of $500, and second-place winners receive $250.

See a list of past Heermans-McCalmon Dramatic Writing Competition winners.

More news

View all news
Heermans-McCalmon Dramatic Writing Awards Presentation