arrow grid linear view icon
The College of Arts Sciences

Heermans-McCalmon Awards

You are here

The Heermans-McCalmon annual awards were established at the bequest of Forbes Heermans (Class of 1878) and in memory of the late George McCalmon, professor of Speech and Drama. The awards are given for the best playwriting and screenwriting produced by students. There are two cash prizes for each category: $250 for first-place entries and $100 for second-place entries. First-place winners will also be given a copy of Final Draft software and either a yearlong subscription to a relevant professional publication or a yearlong membership in a relevant professional organization.

Submissions for the 2019 competition are due by 4:00 p.m. on Monday, October 22, 2018. Official rules for the 2018-19 competition.

The 2018 winners are:


1st place: In the Cold by Sarah Nixon

2nd place: The Absence of No by Madeleine Gray

Honorable mention: Love Trumps Hate by Janilya Baizack


1st place: I Did Something by Basak Akman

2nd place: The Forever War by Gloria Oladipo

Honorable mention: Black Sheep by Jonvi Rollins

A film of the winning screenplay and a staged reading of the winning stage play were presented to the public on Friday, March 23, 2018, at 4:30 p.m. in SB10, Schwartz Center, followed by a panel discussion with industry guests. In addition to awarding the prizes for the contest, the Drama Book Shop award was presented to Irving Torres-Lopez '18, recognizing him as a Cornell senior who has made an outstanding contribution to theatre.  
Contact Pam Lillard at or 607-254-2703 for more information.