The Drama Book Award

Introduced in 1985 by PMA professor David Feldshuh, the Drama Book Award is given annually to a Cornell University student in recognition of outstanding achievement in theatre. Faculty and staff vote on the winner. The recipient receives up to $100 for scripts and books from either Samuel French or Dramatists Play Service.


2021: Sara Pistono

2020: Allen Porterie

2019: Julia Dunetz

2018: Irving Torres-Lopez

2017: Elana Valastro

2016: Steven Blasberg, Anna Brenner, and Brian Murphy

2015: Claire Stack

2014: Jesse Turk

2013: Weili Shi

2012: Julie Kleist Mendes and James Miller

2011: Myles Kenyon Rowland

2010: Katherine Karaus and Zack Mast

2009: Allison Buck

2008: Ryan Oliveira

2007: Barry Kreinik

2006: Lance Hall

2005: Neil Becker and Sara Clemens

2004: Amy Elizabeth Bravo

2003: Peggy Powers and Ben Shiffrin

2002: Dan Antoniazzi, Scott Kelly, and Shari Perkins

2001: Nathan Blanding and Lauren Feldman

2000: Sam Gold

1999: Leah Baacke

1998: Robin Schenker

1997: Neal Freeman and Sarah Stern

1996: Gad Guterman

1995: Jenny Schwartz

1994: Andrew Brody

1993: Elizabeth W. Allen, Catherine Arms, and Kelly McManus

1992: Earle M. Alexander, IV

1991: Jude Baldwin and Lisa Bushlow

1990: Ken Westerman

1989: Antoinette La Vecchia

1988: Elizabeth Small

1987: Allan Zadoff

1986: Lee Rosenthal

1985: Karen White