Winners announced for Heermans-McCalmon writing competition

December 18, 2015

The Department of Performing and Media Arts is pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 Heermans-McCalmon writing competition for plays and screenplays.

For screenplays, there was a tie for first place with The Mods by Kiki Hosie and In Mourning by Emma Sassoon sharing top honors.

For stage plays, Mourning for Pebbles (or Dead Guinea Pig) by Deborah Poznansky won first place and A Work of No Man by Brian Murphy was awarded second place.

The competition was open to all Cornell undergraduate students with two prizes awarded in each category, $500 for first place and $250 for second. All four winning scripts will be publicly presented in the Class of '56 Dance Theatre at the Schwartz Center March 18 at 4:30 p.m.

The Heermans-McCalmon awards were established at the bequest of Forbes Heermans (Class of 1878) and in memory of the late George McCalmon, Professor of Speech and Drama.

Heermans-McCalmon writing competition