Winners announced for 2017–2018 Heermans-McCalmon writing competition

November 21, 2017

The Department of Performing and Media Arts is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017–2018 Heermans-McCalmon writing competition for plays and screenplays.


1st place: In the Cold by Sarah Nixon

2nd place: The Absence of No by Madeleine Gray

Honorable mention: Love Trumps Hate by Janilya Baizack


1st place: I Did Something by Basak Akman

2nd place: The Forever War by Gloria Oladipo

Honorable mention: Black Sheep by Jonvi Rollins

There are two cash prizes for each category: $250 for first-place entries and $100 for second-place entries. First-place winners will also be given a copy of Final Draft software and either a yearlong subscription to a relevant professional publication or a yearlong membership in a relevant professional organization.

A film of the winning screenplay and a staged reading of the winning stage play will be presented to the public on Friday, March 23, 2018, at 4:30 p.m. in SB10, Schwartz Center, followed by a panel discussion with industry guests. In addition to awarding the prizes for the contest, we will also award the Drama Book Shop award to a Cornell senior who has made an outstanding contribution to theatre.  

The Heermans-McCalmon awards were established at the bequest of Forbes Heermans (class of 1878) and in memory of the late George McCalmon, professor of speech and drama.

Heermans-McCalmon call for submissions