Schwartz Center for the Performing Arts ©Thomas Hoebbel

Heermans-McCalmon Competition Reading & Screening

You are here

When: Friday, March 23, 4:30 p.m.

Where: Class of '56 Dance Theatre, Schwartz Center for the Performing Arts

A staged reading of the winning play and a screening of an excerpt from the winning screenplay will be presented by undergraduate students. Following the presentations will be a panel discussion with industry experts.

This event is free and open to the public.

2017–18 Winners


1st place: In the Cold by Sarah Nixon

2nd place: The Absence of No by Madeleine Gray

Honorable mention: Love Trumps Hate by Janilya Baizack


1st place: I Did Something by Basak Akman

2nd place: The Forever War by Gloria Oladipo

Honorable mention: Black Sheep by Jonvi Rollins

The Drama Book Shop award will also be presented during this event. Each year, members of the PMA department faculty and staff vote for a Cornell senior who has demonstrated Outstanding Achievement in Theatre. The winner receives a $100 gift certificate for the Drama Book Shop.

The Heermans-McCalmon annual awards were established at the bequest of Forbes Heermans (Class of 1878) and in memory of the late George McCalmon, professor of Speech and Drama. The awards are given for the best playwriting and screenwriting produced by students. There are two cash prizes for each category: $250 for first-place entries and $100 for second-place entries. First-place winners will also be given a copy of Final Draft software and either a yearlong subscription to a relevant professional publication or a yearlong membership in a relevant professional organization.